Dramas That I Watched – 2015 Year-End Review

Hola! Let me tell you something; 2015 is probably the year where I watched more K-dramas than any of other years. Like seriously. Especially when I am in my final year. Don’t ask me how because I don’t even know how. Now that we are already nearing end of 2015 (how time flies!), I am going to write my first Year-End review on what I have watched, dropped and been watching so far this year (including non-2015 dramas).

2015 dramas (in chronological order)

HEALER (KBS)
Healer
Healer was the craze craze, man. I loved the fighting and flying stunts Ji Chang Wook pulled off. He was like a spiderman of the night and, like everybody else, I started to become a fan of Ji Chang Wook. And, oh! Beside the cool ninja, I totally loved the hacker ahjumma! Seriously, I would totally love to have her crazy hacking skills! Nevermind the female lead played by Park Min Young (darn, she is lucky, isn’t she?), da night ninja and hacker ahjumma are such a great partners-in-crime which I dare to dream of having my own. Of course, not to mention, the whole group as well!
Rating? 10/10

KILL ME, HEAL ME (MBC)
KillMeHealMe
Let me tell you, this is one of the best dramas so far this year! You know what? Just give Ji Sung who played seven (SEVEN!!) personalities, all the year-end awards! I am so gonna strike or protest or whatever I can do if he doesn’t win an award or Daesung this year. Alongside Ji Sung, Hwang Jung Eum is a great actress and I don’t get why people criticized her exaggerated acting. D: Maybe it’s just me. Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum have such a great chemistry onscreen! This whole thing was the reason why I watched their past work together, Secret (2013).
Rating: 12/10!

SPY (KBS) (dropped)
Spy
Initially, I watched Spy for Kim Jae Joong who is one of my idol bias. Yes, his acting is great for an idol. However, the plot-wise doesn’t seem to intrigue me anymore after few episodes so I decided to drop it.

HYDE, JEKYLL, ME (SBS) (dropped)
HydeJekyllMe
This is such a wasted of Hyun Bin’s comeback. I thought I would like it because I loved (very!!) Kill Me, Heal Me and both of them have similar genres. However, I was wrong. I am not sure why. Probably because of the plot? The female lead? Or even the male lead and his other personalities? Don’t know.

BLOOD (KBS)
Blood
I watched this because of its genre (vampire, yeah) and I am surprise how I manged to watch throughout whole series. Actually, in my opinion, it’s not that bad as everyone said. I just love to see the vampire stuffs, y’know. 😛 If I were to talk about acting-wise, Ahn Jae Hyun’s acting is okay but not at “level” (I loved his character in You Who Came From The Stars). Same goes for Gu Hye Sun. Ji Jin Hee’s acting was the best one, let me say.
Rating: 7/10

THE GIRL WHO SEES SMELLS (SBS)
TheGirlWhoSeesSmells
Acting-wise, Shin Se Kyung totally shone in this show and I loved the paranormal element in this, in which Shin Se Kyung’s character could literally see smells. It would be so cool to have such ability in real life! Besides that, this show also revolves around sense such that the male lead which was played by Park Yoo Chun, has no ability to feel anything due to trauma. Another is the villain (played by Namgoong Min) who can’t recognise faces, which is interesting.
Rating: 10/10

WHO ARE YOU: SCHOOL 2015 (KBS)
WhoAreYouSchool2015
Kim So Hyun totally killed it as the twins. Jo Soo Hyang totally killed it as the teen sociopath. The girls slayed it. But not the messy love triangle. Ugh. Yook Sung Jae’s character is the guy any girl would want! Till today, I still don’t get why one of the twins (the other twin didn’t care about romance) chose the other guy (played by Nam Joo Hyuk) over him?! School 2013 and its bromance still wins.
Rating: 7/10, if only the girl chose correctly…

EX-GIRLFRIEND CLUB (tvN)
ExGirlFriendClub
It’s nothing much, really. I don’t even know how the hell I managed to watch the whole series when almost everyone dropped. Must be because of Song Ji Hyo and Byun Yo Han. Shrugs.
Rating: 5/10

WARM AND COZY (MBC)
WarmAndCozy
The title is literal. It’s so frustrating to see the male lead (played by Yoo Yeon Seok) being like that. But, I guess in overall, the show is alright and watchable, thanks to Yoo Yeon Seok and Kang Sora. It’s very light-hearted, though, with the bickering between the leads.
Rating: 6.5/10

THE PRODUCERS (KBS)
TheProducers
The casts are great. The story? It’s funny but not that intriguing. Still watchable because of the amazing casts and waves of cameos. However, I feel that each episode is quite too long, must be because I am used to 60 minutes per episode.
Rating: 7/10

ORANGE MARMALADE (KBS)
OrangeMarmalade
Yes, you’re right. I watched this for its vampire genre. At first, this show can be quite confusing as heck. Heck, I and we didn’t know what was going on with the sudden change in timeline. However, overall, it’s actually not so bad now that I understand why. It would be better to skip the Joseon story, though. I loved and read the webtoon version which is so much better than the show itself. And I liked how the meaning of the title is quite deep.
Rating: 6+1/10, +1 for the vampire genre though, and Yeo Jin Goo!

MASKED PROSECUTOR (KBS) (dropped)
MaskedProsecutor
I thought it would be fun and exciting because I love the leads, especially Joo Sang Wook. However, as I thought I could go on watching whole series, I dropped halfway as I was bored with the plot. This show is such a wasted one for the leads. D:

MASK (SBS)
Mask
Ah, the writer of this was also the writer of Secret (2013) and that was the reason why I watched this. There is humorous element in this, thanks to Joo Ji Hoon. Also, not to forget Yeon Jung Hoon whose role remained menacing evil guy throughout the show. Soo Ae has to play two different roles and she was great in expressing emotions.
Rating: 9.5/10

HIGH SOCIETY (SBS)
HighSociety
I admit that I wanted to drop this show halfway, but I stayed on for second couple lead (played by Park Hyung Sik and Im Ji Yeon). They were so freaking adorable together!
Rating: 8-1/10, -1 because of the main couple lead and the story plot

HIDDEN IDENTITY (tvN) (dropped)
HiddenIdentity
Initially, I started this show because of Kim Bum who threw his cute image for manlier type. Don’t get me wrong, I love such genre – thriller, crime, police procedural – however, I am not sure why this show doesn’t keep edged on. Perhaps it’s the plot? The casts are amazing, so they are not the reason why I dropped. I could have stayed but I couldn’t due to the plot.

MY BEAUTIFUL BRIDE (OCN)
MyBeautifulBride
Same reason as Hidden Identity, I started this because of Lee Si Young. To be honest, I almost dropped this as well, but I decided to stay on because it’s an OCN drama. Partially also because of the thrills it gives off and I was curious as to what would happen.
Rating: 7.5/10

I REMEMBER YOU (KBS)
IRememberYou
HANDS DOWN TO THIS SHOW, PEOPLE. Beside Kill Me, Heal Me, this show is the best drama ever in 2015. It’s actually more like the most underrated drama of the year. I loved how the poster didn’t trick us before it aired – it looks so darn cool! The female lead (played by Jang Na Ra) is not your typical girl lead. She is really the best female lead ever and my favourite. This show also made me fall in love with Seo In Guk who played the male lead sexily. Seo In Guk is such a multi-talented actor and singer! Dayum. Because of him, I went to watch Reply 1997 and will be watching his other dramas soon. How can I not recognise him when I watched him in Love Rain and Master’s Sun before?! Leads aside, Do Kyung Soo (from EXO) left great impression as a psychopath, as well as Choi Won Young. The plot story is really superb amazing and interesting that kept me on my toes. I could go on and on, talking about how amazing I Remember You is, but I better stop here. It’s truly great masterpiece.
Rating: 15 + alpha, totally would rewatch it.

THE TIME I LOVED YOU (SBS) (dropped)
TheTimeILovedYou
Ha Ji Won and Lee Jin Wook are amazing casts, but not the show itself. They were wasted in this show. It’s really boring, let me tell you.

OH MY GHOSTESS (tvN)
OhMyGhostess
Oh the lusty ghost! So much adorableness in this show! I am glad that Park Bo Young’s drama comeback is a great success thanks to her dual roles in Oh My Ghostess. Not to forget the hottie chef who was played by Jo Jung Seok. Dayum.
Rating: 12/10

SCHOLAR WHO WALKS THE NIGHT (MBC)
ScholarWhoWalksTheNight
Again, it’s vampire genre.
Rating: 7.5/10

YONG-PAL (SBS)
YongPal
Ah, this show. It was great at the start. That was it till somewhere episode 6 or 8 (I can’t remember where) where the plot was messed up. I had expected some Healer feel, but that was only in first episode, sadly. I have to say it’s an overrated drama of the year. I felt sad for Joo Won who had to work hard and didn’t get enough sleep because of live-shooting (this happens to other dramas, ugh).
Rating: 6.5/10

CHEO YONG 2 (OCN)
CheoYong2
Loved the season 1 and I loved season 2 as well. Season 2 was more intense than the previous. Hands down to OCN and Oh Ji Ho. Jun Hyo Seong was a cutie ghost!
Rating: 10/10

TWENTY AGAIN (tvN)
TwentyAgain
Very light-hearted. Adorable adult bickering couple consisted of cute woman (played by Choi Ji Woo) and grumpy man (played by Lee Sang Yoon).
Rating: 9.5/10

SHE WAS PRETTY (MBC)
SheWasPretty
This show has to be the funniest drama of the year, all thanks to Choi Siwon (from Super Junior!!) who portrayed a mischievous and yet smart reporter, and mysterious writer. I love his chemistry with both Hwang Jung Eum and Park Seo Joon. Yes, with Park Seo Joon! Their bromance are what makes it funnier, hehe. Anyway, this show reunited Hwang Jung Eum and Park Seo Joon who played siblings in Kill Me, Heal Me. I wished Ji Sung would make a cameo appearance, but alas, he didn’t.
Rating: 13/10

D-DAY (JTBC)
D-Day
This is one whole new genre for a K-drama and a must watch. It has such realistic graphics (yeah, earthquakes and such) and will make a viewer hate one character so much, more than ever. It also shows how the medical team deal with aftermath and it always kept me on the edge, waiting for next episode.
Rating: 7/10

SASSY, GO GO (KBS)
SassyGoGo
Started this because of Jung Eun Ji and it was great at the beginning. That’s till love triangle comes in. I thought KBS learnt their lesson from Who Are You: School 2015?! At least, I still liked it because of Eun Ji and the rising stars Lee Won Geun (his eye smile and him being eye smile couple with Eun Ji!!) and Ji Soo, hehe. 😀
Rating: 7/10, if only they didn’t add love triangle…

BUBBLEGUM (tvN)
Bubblegum
This is similar to The Time I Loved You but it’s way better! What a loving and warm family. Loved how cute Lee Dong Wook and Jung Ryeo Won were as a childhood-friends-turned-lovers.
Rating: 7.5/10

OH MY VENUS (KBS) (still airing)
OhMyVenus
Oh, the lust and sexiness. 😛 So Ji Sub and Shin Min Ah have such sizzling chemistry, man! So far so good, liking this show and hopefully it will keep up its pace.

SWEET, SAVAGE FAMILY (MBC) (still airing)
SweetSavageFamily
Am still deciding whether I should continue watching this show though it seems fun.

IMAGINARY CAT (MBC Every1) (still airing)
ImaginaryCat
CUTENESS OVERLOAD in this show!! Yes, it’s about a guy (Yoo Seung Ho) and a fatty grumpy cat. Loving it. 😀 Besides, it’s one of Yoo Seung Ho’s drama comebacks!

REMEMBER – SON’S WAR (SBS) (still airing)
Remember-Son'sWar
Though it only started airing, I am loving it so far! It may be too early to say this, but I am quite hooked! It’s another of Yoo Seung Ho’s drama comebacks. Acting is everything in this show, especially the leads. Like seriously, the acting-wise is so good you can’t just drop it. I still can’t believe that Seung Ho is only 22 years old because he looks bit older and Park Min Young is 29 years old.

Past year dramas watched in 2015 (no order)

BIRTH OF A BEAUTY (SBS, 2014)
BirthOfABeauty
Loved Joo Sang Wook in this. No comment, and I just liked watching this show. xD Plus it’s rom-com.
Rating: 9/10

SECRET (KBS, 2013)
Secret
Because I couldn’t get enough of Kill Me, Heal Me and their leads (Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum), I went on binge-watching on this show right after. Dayum, Secret was such a great melodrama!
Rating: 10/10

REPLY 1997 (tvN, 2012)
Reply1997
Heard it was great and I decided to watch this show because I couldn’t get enough of Seo In Guk after watching him in I Remember You (where Seo In Guk became my number one favourite actor). And, damn, this was also where I loved Jung Eun Ji and her ability to act even though she is an idol (as a member of APink). Reply 1997 really made me smile at the end of the show. Loved it. This show is what making the Reply franchise (Reply 1994 and Reply 1988) popular.
Rating: 11/10

GOD’S QUIZ (OCN, 2010)
God'sQuiz
Always loved and still love OCN dramas, so I am trying to catch up on almost every drama from OCN. This show had been amazing with discoveries of rare diseases and such, “teaching” me medical stuffs.
Rating: 8/10

PLUS NINE BOYS (tvN, 2014)
PlusNineBoys
Been wanting to watch since last year, so I finally got a chance to watch it this year. Number 9 is my favourite number. 😉 I like how they transit from one boy’s story to another and play out their life which are similar due to their age ending in 9.
Rating: 7/10

HIGH SCHOOL KING OF SAVVY (tvN, 2014)
HighSchooKingOfSavvy
Am still currently catching up on this show and you know the reason why I watched this. 😛 Yup, it’s because of Seo In Guk, hehe. I have to say I am kinda hooked on this show!

That was a whole lot of dramas I watched this year! If you were to ask me what is my favourite drama of the year or the best drama of the year, my answer will always be the same – I Remember You, which is also known as Hello Monster. Seriously, it’s really the best in term of quality, acting, plot and everything, despite the some flaws and low viewership ratings. I loved how they didn’t change the course of the show just because of low ratings. I am not being biased, but I really can’t compare I Remember You to any of other dramas of same genres as it has exceeded my expectations.

I am glad that I have learnt a lot from Korean dramas and gained friends through this community. I hope to be able to keep this blog going throughout next year. 😀 Besides, I have tons of dramas on my To-Watch list and I hope, no, I will catch up on them soon! It’s time to sign off my first ever year-end review and thank you for reading! Hopefully, there will be more good dramas next year. 😛

3 thoughts on “Dramas That I Watched – 2015 Year-End Review

  1. Great list! We watched a lot of the same dramas and had a lot of similar thoughts. My favorite of the year was Kill Me Heal Me, no contest. Love Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum. I also really loved Girl Who Sees Smells, Healer, Scholar Who Walks the Night, and Producers. There was a lot of wonderful dramas this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome to hear that we have similar thoughts! 😀 Kill Me, Heal Me was such an emotional ride and yet thrilling, making us laugh and love it at the same time. :’) Ji Sung totally deserves many many awards at the year-end award show. I agree that there were lot of great dramas this year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

