Dramas That I Watched – 2016 Mid-Year Review

(I am sorry if my header for this post sucks, in terms of design. But I do suck at creative ideas. xP)

I thought I should do this in order to lessen the burden on myself for year-end review. Besides that, we’re already halfway through 2016! Many shows went by as well, and don’t ya wish you could take back your time spent on wasted shows? Because I still do. However, I am the type who likes to go through and finish whole show unless it’s really really boring and plotless. Now, let’s see what I watched the past half year.

2015-2016 dramas (in chronological order) [dramas that ended its run in 2016]

SIX FLYING DRAGONS (SBS) (currently catching up)
SixFlyingDragons
Including this because it ended its run in Mar 2016, and I wish I watched it earlier! Well, at least it’s never too late when I finally decided to watch this 50-episodes drama (thanks to 6FD trashes around me). Now, I am hooked onto this show. And, of course, Byun Yo Han.

OH MY VENUS (KBS)
OhMyVenus
Rating: 7/10

SWEET, SAVAGE FAMILY (MBC) (dropped)
SweetSavageFamily
It ended its run in 2016 too and I had mentioned in my 2015 Year-End Review that I was watching this, but I ended up dropping it. It may be comedy but I weirdly lost interest in watching this.

IMAGINARY CAT (MBC Every1)
ImaginaryCat
CUTIES! But not the ending. 😦
Rating: 10/10

REMEMBER – SON’S WAR (SBS)
Remember-Son'sWar
Yoo Seung Ho. Minus the tear-jerking scenes.
Rating: 8/10

2016 dramas (in chronological order)

CHEESE IN THE TRAP (tvN)
CheeseInTheTrap
I read the webtoon and wondered how they would execute the story in drama version. Bit disappointing, though. I was slightly alright with its ending since the webtoon is still ongoing. Nevertheless, Park Hae Jin and Kim Go Eun managed to bring the lead characters into life. And, oh, the siblings chemistry between Lee Sung Kyung and Seo Kang Joon!
Rating: 6/10

MOORIM SCHOOL (KBS)
MoorimSchool
Ah, this one is actually not so disappointing despite many flaws in acting-wise and such. It has its own mystery vibes and little good martial art moves.
Rating: 5.5/10

ONE MORE HAPPY ENDING (MBC)
OneMoreHappyEnding
Sweet and cute couples. Light and humourous show. Our little cute and petite Jang Na Ra and, remember that iconic “Oh My Gawd” jaw-dropping face of Jung Kyung Ho, heh.
Rating: 7/10

SIGNAL (tvN)
Signal
This is shit good! No kidding! Now, I can’t not think of this show whenever I see walkie-talkie or Lee Je Hoon. So happy for him to be receiving lots of love through this insanely mind-blowing show. Of course, not to forget ahjusshi Cho Jin Woong~
(Park Hae-young’s voice) “The past can be changed.”
Rating: 13/10

MADAME ANTOINE (JTBC)
MadameAntoine
For Han Ye Seul.
Rating: 6/10

DESCENDANTS OF THE SUN (KBS)
DescendantsOfTheSun
A highly-anticipated and high-rated drama of the year – that’s what it is to everyone in the world. It definitely triggered the Hallyu Wave. However, it seems overrated to me, with all those cheesy lines and such. I do like the casts, especially the secondary casts, but not the plot. I am sorry to those DotS fans, but it’s kinda plotless as they throw in big things.
So my rating? 6/10 + 1 for the casts

COME BACK, AHJUSSHI (SBS)
ComeBackAhjusshi
Sobs, why does this show have to be up against DoTS as they had same timeslot? It deserves so much better viewership ratings and attention. And I am still not over the ending. Gaaaaayyyyyys. Hehe, never forget how Oh Yeon Seo is shippable with almost everyone, even with Honey Lee! And, oh, our cutie Lee Tae Hwan!
Rating: 10/10

VAMPIRE DETECTIVE (OCN)
VampireDetective
I really had high expectations for this show, and all I got was disappointment. Does the vampire himself know he is a vampire? I don’t think so. Lee Joon’s talent was wasted in this show, sigh.
Rating: 4.5/10

JACKPOT (SBS)
Jackpot
Saeguk version of All In (2003, which I have been putting on hold. I will finish it one day.) I am not sure how I got through this show. Must be because of gambling part and Jin Goo, heh. So far, so okay.
Rating: 5.5/10

PIED PIPER (tvN)
PiedPiper
INTENSIVE SHOW AND SHIN HA KYUN. What’s more is that this show is behind Liar Game production team. Have I mentioned how shit is Liar Game? As in being good shit, with its mind games and Lee Sang Yoon. Pied Piper is shit good as well, with an expected and yet doubtful twist. You gotta watch this, if you love psychologically thriller.
Rating: 11/10

GOODBYE, MR BLACK (MBC)
GoodbyeMrBlack
As always, because of the casts, I decided to pick this up. Not so bad except for the crazy miracle recovery after badly injured.
Rating: 6/10

MEMORY (tvN)
Memory
Gosh, Lee Sung Min is too good in this. Also, because of Remember with their similar genres (lawyer and Alzheimer’s disease), I thought I should watch this show as well. Made myself suffer again.
Rating: 8/10

NEIGHBOURHOOD LAYWER JO DEUL-HO (KBS)
NeighbourhoodLawyerJoDeulHo
I didn’t intend to watch this in the first place but after hearing of its high viewership rating, I decided to give it a go. It’s good! Park Shin Yang with crazy look in his eyes, fighting for justice. And there is pretty Kang Sora.
Rating: 9/10

ENTERTAINER (SBS)
Entertainer
The second half of the show is better than when it started. If you’d like eye candies, maybe you wanna try watching this show.
Rating: 7.5/10

ANOTHER OH HAE-YOUNG (tvN)
AnotherOhHaeYoung
Cute. What happens when you see visions of unknown girl whose name turns out to be the same as your ex? What’s more – two of them even go to same high school and same company. Let Eric Mun (Shinhwa!!) guide you through the show. One thing to remember from this show is that a fate cannot be avoided.
Rating: 7.5/10

DEAR MY FRIENDS (tvN)
DearMyFriends
Sobs, this is too good and heart-warming. So much feels. I wanted to write my review on this show, but I don’t think I am able to put in any words to explain. Thanks, tvN. This may be an elderly show, but it will make you cry and laugh. It’s true how we, children, are selfish and we see it through the role of Go Hyun Jung. So much life lesson learned, and it makes you think of what your future might hold and cherish your time with your family even more. Really a beautiful drama, thanks to the veteran actors and actresses. Even the supporting actors played meaningful roles alongside them. Truly a masterpiece.
Rating: I can’t rate. It deserves more than 10.

Currently airing (as of 4th July)

FIVE CHILDREN (KBS)
FiveChildren
Another 50-episodes show I am committing to. (Rrecently, it got 4-episodes extension, so it’s 54-episodes.) Started this because Im Soo Hyang is my fave. I am so glad how I am actually like the show itself. All the more, loving the second OTP and the brothers’ complicated relationship, hah.

LUCKY ROMANCE (MBC)
LuckyRomance
All I got to say is that Ryu Jun Yeol is totally killing his role of genius IT programmer Je Soo-ho. They made a right in choosing him for this role. May this be MBC Queen Hwang Jung Eum’s another success show.

POLICE UNIT 38 (OCN)
PoliceUnit38
SEO IN GUK. MA DONG SEOK. CHOI SOO YOUNG. That’s it.

BEAUTIFUL MIND (KBS)
BeautifulMind
Ah, it’s a pity how Jang Hyuk and Park So Dam are up against Park Shin Hye and Kim Rae Won from Doctors in the same timeslot. It’s actually surprisingly well-made. Jang Hyuk is perfect for this role. Definitely rooting for this.

DOCTORS (SBS)
Doctors
Pretty faces everywhere and Kim Rae Won’s smiling face, heh. As well as Cheese in the Trap’s Lee Sung Kyung and Six Flying Dragons’ warrior-nim Yoon Kyun Sang. I bet this show will definitely help SBS get back on its feet, in terms of getting high viewership ratings, after KBS’ hit show Descendants of the Sun and add to already triggered Hallyu Wave this year.

Past year dramas watched in 2015 (no order)

REPLY 1994 (tvN, 2013)
Reply1994
Still prefer Reply 1997. Don’t think I plan to watch Reply 1988 even though Park Bo Gum is in it.
Rating: 6.5/10

MISSING NOIR M (OCN, 2015)
MissingNoirM
Because it’s an OCN drama. Came to know of Kim Kang Woo through this, heh.
Rating: 8/10

MISAENG (tvN, 2014)
Misaeng
I liked this. It somehow taught me how the work life is going to be like and how the characters deal with the problems encountered at work. Those watched it could relate and this was why it was a success.
Rating: 9.5/10

GAP DONG (tvN, 2014)
GapDong
Always wanted to watch this and decided to quickly pick this up because of Lee Joon. The revelation was a surprise for me even though I guessed somewhere.
Rating: 7.5/10

Lastly, happy July! May there be good shows for the rest of this year.

7 thoughts on “Dramas That I Watched – 2016 Mid-Year Review

  1. Please watch Reply 1988! It’s the best out of the three – you won’t regret it. It immediately went to my top 5 dramas of all time after I was done and I’m planning on rewatching it cause it’s that good 🙂 Love your reviews btw!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

