Dramas That I Watched – 2016 Year-End Review

It’s the time of the year again. It feels like yesterday when I wrote 2015 Year-End Review, and now I am writing another for this year 2016. Now, let’s look at the list. I am even surprised at the ridiculous amount of dramas I watched this year, not to mention that I already wrote previous half of the amount in 2016 Mid-Year Review in June. I am including Chinese dramas too, heh.

2016 K-dramas (in chronological order)

SIX FLYING DRAGONS (SBS)
SixFlyingDragons
Blood everywhere and everyone dies. Kidding. I meant to say that we didn’t get a happy ending, but it’s okay. I never really liked historical and political show, but this is an exceptional! This is just… I just like the show for no reason and my heart broke countless times whenever favourites died.
Rating: 11/10!

FIVE CHILDREN
(KBS)
FiveChildren
Cute! We have even cuter second lead pairings. Now, it doesn’t seem to be a waste of time to take up another 50-episodes drama.
Rating: 8/10

LUCKY ROMANCE (MBC)
LuckyRomance
I only watched this because of the leads, but it’s so similar to She Was Pretty which Hwang Jung Eum also starred in. So, it’s a predictable show and Hwang Jung Eum’s character is no different from hers in She Was Pretty.
Rating: 5/10

POLICE UNIT 38 (OCN)
PoliceUnit38
All for leads as usual. 😛 I found it okay and bearable to watch, as the squad’s plan the way to con people into paying taxes was interesting for bit.
Rating: 6/10

BEAUTIFUL MIND (KBS)
BeautifulMind
How is it that this show get the lowest ratings when the medical shows have been kinda hit recently this year? The plot is interestingly solid, with the discussion of whether a monster is created or born.
Ratings: 6.5/10

DOCTORS (SBS)
Doctors
Well, of course, who could not watch Park Shin Hye and Kim Rae Won? I really liked Shin Hye’s role in this, though. It’s very different from her past roles and challenged her in portraying a fresh image.
Ratings: 6/10

WANTED (SBS)
wanted
It’s similar to God’s Gift – 14 Days, and you can say it’s pretty intense. I didn’t expect the culprit of all things happened! You can never know whether a close person is an enemy.
Rating: 6.5/10

UNCONTROLLABLY FOND (KBS) (dropped)
uncontrollablyfond
Yes, Kim Woo Bin! But, I couldn’t go on with the show. I guess it’s because of the female lead and I thought I wasn’t interested in the plot. I could finish watching it, but…I don’t know. Whoops. xD

THE GOOD WIFE (tvN)
thegoodwife
The remake of American series The Good Wife. Though I have never watched the American version, the Korean remake turns out to be great and I liked how they took things to a different level in K-dramaland, having American vibes and being diverse, such as bisexuality and homosexuality.
Rating: 9/10

BRING IT ON, GHOST (tvN)
bringitonghost
As a fan of supernatural-kind show and Kim So Hyun, how can I not watch this? Except that I wasn’t comfortable with the idea of 17-years-old actress in a romance with older guy and having to act older and drunk. Like, she is still a minor, for goodness’ sake. But oh well, Kim So Hyun still slayed her role as always.
Rating: 5.5/10

W – TWO WORLDS (MBC)
wtwoworlds
I was so looking forward to this show and I was never disappointed throughout the show, with my mind being blown away most of the times. This writer never fails to disappoint me. What’s more, Lee Jong Suk was in it! You can say I loved W, despite the ending. Actually, on second thoughts, it’s not a bad not disappointing ending because their world is still ongoing and it’s up to our imagination.
Rating: 8/10

AGE OF YOUTH (jTBC)
ageofyouth
The lives of five girls living in same hostel. Rating: 10/10

MOONLIGHT DRAWN BY CLOUDS (KBS)
moonlightdrawnbyclouds
Park Bo Gum! Though, the same way for Kim So Hyun, I felt that Kim Yoo Jung is still too young to take on this leading role, it was alright to watch. Like, how can you not watch Park Bo Gum? xD
Rating: 6/10

JEALOUSY INCARNATE (SBS)
jealousyincarnate
Triangles are literally everywhere in this show, from love to mothers-daughter relationships. Hotties everywhere too, heh.
Rating: 6.5/10

MOON LOVERS: SCARLET HEART RYEO (SBS)
moonlovers
Oh, the remake of Chinese show ‘Scarlet Heart’ which I watched when I was younger. Felt neutral about this Korean remake but was disappointed at the ending. It’s very different from the Chinese version. I was expecting for the leads to meet in modern era, but no they didn’t. What…
Rating: 5.5/10

FANTASTIC (jTBC) (dropped)
fantastic
I liked the casts, but I dropped without knowing. Not sure why. Maybe I will pick it up in future, if I ever remember to. xD

DRINKING SOLO (tvN)
drinkingsolo
Coming from Let’s Eat franchise, this show is actually fun to watch! I loved how they keep making meta references to other shows and also, it’s very relatable to those who are studying. Very real too.
Rating: 8.5/10

ON THE WAY TO THE AIRPORT (KBS)
onthewaytotheairport
Married person seeking refuge in another when one’s down. What an affair. Could have been better if they stayed as friends. But, still, I watched throughout because of the airport theme and the male leads.
Rating: 5.5/10

SHOPPING KING LOUIS (MBC)
shoppingkinglouis.jpg
Fluffy and light! What a cute show! What’s more, Seo In Guk knew how to jumped right into a totally different character after his role in Police Unit 38. This is why he is one of my favourites. Totally a recommendable show whenever someone wants to watch a rom-com show.
Rating: 9/10

THE K2 (tvN)
thek2
Ah, this is from Yong-pal’s writer. At least, this show is better than Yong-pal. Oops. What I liked from this show was how Song Yoon Ah portrayed her role. Very evil. And, poor Ji Chang Wook who got tired from action scenes.
Rating: 5.5/10

WOMAN WITH A SUITCASE (MBC)
womanwithasuitcase
I thought I’d give it a try and it wasn’t bad.
Rating: 6/10

GOGH, THE STARRY NIGHT (Sohu TV, SBS)
goghstarrynight
Watched it when it was out after airing on web. Not so complicated and dragging!
Rating: 6.5/10

THE MAN LIVING AT MY HOUSE (KBS)
manlivingatmyhouse
It was time to see Soo Ae in a rom-com drama after watching her in melodrama Mask. Neutral about this show, hah.
Rating: 6/10

MY WIFE’S HAVING AN AFFAIR THIS WEEK (jTBC)
mywifeishavinganaffairthisweek
Okay, this show is amusing. No, I don’t mean having an affair is amusing. It’s Lee Sun Kyun’s worried face when he found out that his wife might be having an affair, was actually amusing in pity way. >< And there is Lee Sang Yeob who is such a dramatic queen, man. Kudos to other characters too!
Rating: 7.5/10

ENTOURAGE (tvN) (dropped)
entourage
I tried.

Currently airing (as of 26th December)

THE GENTLEMEN OF WOLGYESU TAILOR SHOP (KBS)
gentlementoftailorshop
This 50-episodes show takes up the slot after Five Children, and it’s really entertaining to watch!

ROMANTIC DOCTOR TEACHER KIM (SBS)
romanticdoctorteacherkim
Han Suk Kyu! After watching him in Tree With Deep Roots, I thought I should just watch this kinda-messed show for him, heh.

FATHER I’LL TAKE CARE OF YOU (MBC)
fatheriwilltakecareofyou
Another 50-episodes family drama. Because 50-episodes actually doesn’t sound very needing-to-commit, ok. Well, depends. The casts in this show are awesome, such as Park Eun Bin and Lee Tae Hwan!

OH MY GEUM-BI (KBS)
ohmygeumbi
Sobs at this show, I am just making myself suffer. This is good.

THE LEGEND OF THE BLUE SEA (SBS)
legendofthebluesea
Because it came from the writer of My Love From Another Star, it would fun to watch. I am actually liking the comedic elements in this show and supernatural

NIGHT LIGHT (MBC)
nightlight
I am trying to catch up, but I am thinking of dropping it. I don’t know, hah.

GOBLIN (tvN)
goblin
Of course, who wouldn’t watch this? Though I like Kim Go Eun, somehow her character is kinda childlike? But, I am sure she would mature. Actually, this is way better than the writer’s own Descendants of the Sun. The bromance is way too funny in this.

SOLOMON’S PERJURY (jTBC)
solomonsperjury
I am sure I can trust this show. The premiere is good.

Past year K-dramas watched in 2016 (no order)

PUNCH (SBS, 2014)
punch
JAJANGMYEON! And KUDUZ ROOT.
Rating: 7/10

LET’S EAT (tvN, 2013)
letseat
Oh yum, food everywhere. Damn.
Rating: 7/10

TREE WITH DEEP ROOTS (SBS, 2011)
treewithdeeproots
It’s a sequel to Six Flying Dragons, though this actually produced earlier, and I couldn’t not watch it. King Sejong gotta be my favourite now.
Rating: 9/10

C-Dramas (no order)

LOVE ME IF YOU DARE (2015)
lovemeifyoudare
Read that it’s similar to I Remember You and it’s actually quite similar. Except that their female leads are very different. Didn’t like how the girl is kinda weak in this show. >< Wallace Huo, thoughhhh.
Rating: 7.5/10

LOVE O2O (2016) (currently catching up)
loveo2o
I saw tweets about it all over my Twitter and I read the synopsis. Then, I knew I HAVE to watch this, because of the industry and gaming themed. I keep taking my time to watch this show because I can’t bear to end it. And, Yang Yang!

WHEN A SNAIL FALLS IN LOVE (2016)
whenasnailfallsinlove
This came from the same novel writer of Love Me if You Dare (Novel is known as ‘When He Comes, Close Your Eyes’). Not bad, especially how the female lead trained herself to be stronger. And, the writer left us hanging at the end, which also happened to Love Me if You Dare. Ugh. Oh, yes, Wang Kai, yasss.
Rating: 8/10

Okay, damnnn that’s a lot. Now what is my favourite drama for this year? Not to forget the other half of the list, I really liked Six Flying Dragons, Signal, Come Back, Ahjusshi, Dear My Friends, W – Two Worlds and Age of Youth. Can’t really choose, oops. Anyway, tvN wins at most. Best drama in my opinion? That would be Signal. And, so, here’s to better and more fun dramas in 2017~

Leave a Reply

